Sustain Wales Awards Finalists Announced – Vote now!

[:en]We are delighted to announce the finalists for the Sustain Wales Awards 2016.

Over the past few months Cynnal Cymru have been inspired by the 60 applications we have received for the Sustain Wales Awards taking place in November 2016. We have been overwhelmed by the number of exciting innovative projects and initiatives being carried out by businesses, community groups and individuals across Wales.

Last week the judging panel had the difficult task of selecting a short list of three applicants in each category by focusing on those that are contributing the most to help achieve Cynnal Cymru’s mission, to make Wales a sustainable nation. Our judging panel consisted of Former Premier of South Australia, Mike Rann; Head of Policy and Innovation at the Future Generations Commissioners Office, Rita Singh and Chair of Cynnal Cymru – Sustain Wales, Derek Osborn.

The judges used the goals and principles of the new Well-being of Future Generations (Wales) Act as a base to measure activities and outcomes and were delighted to see the level of understanding and implementation of sustainability through innovation.

Mike Rann said:

“It was an honour to be part of the shortlisting panel for the Sustain Wales Awards 2016 and learn about the impressive work being done in Wales. I believe these finalists are the pioneers in ensuring Wales becomes a world leader in sustainable development over the next few years. Congratulations to all those shortlisted and I look forward to hearing who the public chooses as their winners at the awards ceremony in the Senedd in Cardiff Bay on November 17th”.

The public vote opens today on the Cynnal Cymru – Sustain Wales website and we expect to exceed last year’s 5000 during the next four weeks.

Tickets for the awards ceremony are also available which promises to be an inspirational evening hosted by Jane Davidson and is a key event on the social calendar for anyone interested in sustainability.

Book Tickets


The finalists for each category are listed below:


Sustainability Champion

Sponsored by University of Wales Trinity St David’s

Alexandra Wall

Iain Cox

Trish Hoddinott


Sustainable School

Sponsored by The Open University

Dragon LNG


Thornhill Primary School


Sustainable FE/HE Institution

Aberystwyth University

Bangor University

University of Wales Trinity Saint David


Sustainable Venue

Principality Stadium

Ty Mawr Lime

Venue Cymru


Sustainable Public Service

Sponsored by Griffiths

South Wales Police and Crime Commissioner

Natural Resources Wales Healthy Hillsides & Carbon Positive Project

Llanelli Rural Council


Sustainable Business

Sponsored by Melin Homes

Halen Môn / Anglesey Sea Salt

Principality Building Society

Enterprise Holdings


Sustainable Community

Sponsored by Principality Stadium / Wales Rugby Union

Ynni Ogwen Cyf

Gwern y Domen Conservation Group

Datblygiadau Egni Gwledig (DEG)


Sustainable Social Enterprise

Sponsored by Interserve

Awel Co-operative

Pembrokeshire Coastal Forum

Lia’s Kitchen


Sustainable Innovation

Sponsored by Enterprise Rent-a-Car

Port of Milford Haven

Dwr Cymru Rainscape

Newport City Homes

Vote Now


Sponsored by:


Scroll to Top