Sustain Wales Awards 2017 – Shortlist Announced


Cynnal Cymru are delighted to announce those shortlisted for the Sustain Wales Awards 2017.

Cynnal Cymru have been inspired by all of the amazing applications we have received for the Sustain Wales Awards taking place in November 2017. We are pleased to see that so many exciting projects and initiatives are being undertaken by businesses, community groups and individuals across Wales.

Rhodri Thomas, Principal Sustainability Consultant was responsible for ensuring all the successful applicants met the initial criteria of meeting at least one of the seven Well-being Goals, before handing over the our judging panel for the final selection process.

Rhodri Thomas, Principal Consultant at Cynnal Cymru said:

“It was great to see such a diverse range of applications from small start-up initiatives to large complex organisation tacking a whole range of sustainability issues. I was really encouraged to discover organisations and projects that we haven’t heard of before.”

Over the past few weeks our expert judges had the difficult task of narrowing down those finalists in each category who have undertaken outstanding work to help achieve Cynnal Cymru’s mission to make Wales a sustainable nation. Our judging panel consists of Innovation Lead from Innovate UK – Nick Cliff, Co-Director of Sustainable Place Research Institute – Professor Susan Baker, Chief Executive of Wales Council for Voluntary Action- Ruth Marks and Chair of Cynnal Cymru -Derek Osbourn.

The judges looked at all the applications and judged how well their work meets the five ways of working outlined in the Well-being of Future Generations (Wales) Act. All the finalists demonstrated new innovative ideas and a good level of understanding and support for this instrumental legislation.

We are pleased to be able to announce our main sponsor for the Sustain Wales Awards this year as Wales and West Utilities. We would like to thank all our sponsors for the support this year including Acuity Legal, University of Wales Trinity St Davids, the Open University, Principality Stadium, Social Business Wales, Interserve and Gwyrdd Consulting.

Derek Osborn, Chair of Cynnal Cymru and Awards judge said:

“All of the organisations and individuals that have been shortlisted for the Sustain Wales Awards public vote are pioneers in helping make Wales a world leader in sustainable development. Congratulations to all those shortlisted and I look forward to hearing who the public choses as their winners at the awards ceremony in the Senedd in Cardiff Bay on 30th November.”

The Public Vote opens on the Cynnal Cymru website from today Thursday 05 October and closes Tuesday 31st October midday.

The finalists in each category are listed below:

Sustainability Champion (nominations)

This category recognises individuals who have inspired real change in their organisation and have contributed positively to the awareness of Sustainable Development in Wales.

Frankie Hobro

Chris Blake

Phil Williams


Sustainable School – Sponsored by The Open University Wales

Open to primary and secondary schools, this category recognises the school or educational initiative that really stands out.

Ysgol Bae Baglan – Stride Treglown

Eco Icans Challenge – Thornhill Primary School

Sustainable School – Ysgol Gymraeg Brynsierfel


Sustainable FE/HE Institution – Sponsored by Acuity Legal

Open to further and higher education institutions, this category is looking for strong evidence of impact or innovation.

SWell Staff Engagement Programme and The Student Energy Project (TSEP) – Swansea University and Amber Energy

Centre of Excellence – Bridgend College

Pharmbees – Cardiff University


Sustainable Venue/ Space

Open to all venues, places and spaces this category recognises innovative approaches to creating low carbon, resilient, safe and attractive communities.

Building Community – Down to Earth

Small Changes, Big Value – St David’s Partnership

More than just a Bowling Alley – Xcel Bowl


Sustainable Innovation in Public Services

Open to all public sector organisations, this award recognises a team or project within the public service sector that have gone beyond statutory requirements of the Well-being of Future Generations Act.

Snowdon Partnership Plan – Snowdonia National Park

NRW’s Carbon Positive Project – Natural Resources Wales

Our Space – Public Health Wales / Greenstream Flooring


Sustainable Business – Sponsored by Gwyrdd Creative Communications

This category is open to businesses and entrepreneurs who have demonstrated that adopting innovative sustainability practices leads to business success.

The Sustainability Challenge 2016/17 – Griffiths

Responsible Finance – Robert Owen Community Banking

Sustainable New Build Systems and Retrofit Insulation Systems for Old Buildings – Ty-Mawr Lime


Sustainable Community Group – Sponsored by Asiantaeth Ynni Severn Wye Energy Agency

We are looking for inspirational voluntary groups and projects that have achieved positive change within their community.

Recycle4Charity – Pembrokeshire Care Share & Give

Pentrebane Zone

The Development of Pontyberem Park – Pontyberem Community Park Association


Sustainable Social Enterprise – Social Business Wales

Open to all Social Enterprises/Community Interest Companies who are delivering positive impact through inclusive and innovative approaches.

Wind Farm and Sustainable Community Fund – Awel Co-op

Community Energy Network – Datblygiadau Egni Gwledig (DEG)

Fair Energy – YnNi Teg


Sustainable Practice in Arts, Culture or Sport (NEW)

Open to organisations within the arts, cultural and sports sector who have significantly improved the environmental and social well-being of their organisation and/ or community.

BBC Roath Lock Studios – Sustainable TV Production Certificate

‘It Doesn’t Have To be That Way’ – Breaking the cycles of abuse, violence and control

Arts from the Armchair – Theatr Clwyd / Betsi Cadwaldr University Health Board



Vote now in each category for the people, project or organisation that you think deserves to win a Sustain Wales Award.


Main Sponsor



Scroll to Top