Sustain Wales Awards 2017 Winners Announced!

[:en]Cynnal Cymru – Sustain Wales announce the winners of the national Sustain Wales Awards 2017.

Last night (30th November) Cynnal Cymru – Sustain Wales celebrated some of the leading organisations and individuals in Wales championing sustainability. The awards ceremony, sponsored by AM Llyr Gruffydd, took place in the Senedd in Cardiff Bay to an audience of national and international organisations working to create a more sustainable Wales.

The Awards, hosted by Actor and Cynnal Cymru’s, Rhodri Thomas highlighted the 27 finalists from around Wales, organisations and individuals who have undertaken outstanding work to help achieve Cynnal Cymru’s mission of making Wales a sustainable nation.

The Senedd was alive with the leading activists, thinkers and businesses that are driving forward change to make Wales a better place, from the BBC’s sustainable productions; Dr. Who (with its LED Tardis), Pobol y Cwm and Casualty to Xcel Bowl in Carmarthen and their Foodbank, Furniture recycling and Community Shop; and everything in between.

Cynnal Cymru were inspired by the number of applications received from organisations across Wales. It was the role of an expert judging panel consisting of Chair of Cynnal Cymru, Derek Osborn, Chief Executive of WCVA, Ruth Marks, Co-director of the Sustainable Places Research Institute, Professor Susan Baker and Innovation Lead at Innovate UK, Nick Cliffe, to score all of the amazing applications and narrow down the highly commended finalists. Since September, over 10,000 individual votes were cast by the public which selected the winners of each of the categories of the awards.

Wales and West Utilities, as the main sponsor of the awards, presented a Special Recognition Award to Joyce and Nigel Gervis, the founders and directors of Ty-Mawr Lime. The couple created an innovative enterprise in a rural community, providing much needed jobs, developing techniques to preserve the rural built heritage of Wales and the rest of the UK, finding low carbon, resource efficient responses to the challenges of making old and new buildings energy efficient and water tight. They have created entirely new products and systems and created accredited training courses for architects, building trades and householders, training in excess of 10,000 people. Joyce and Nigel also support many local charities and community initiatives, giving their time as individuals to the civic life of their county and to Wales.

Yesterday afternoon, before the awards Cynnal Cymru, as the leading organisation for sustainable development in Wales also hosted a roundtable to encourage the finalists and sponsors to come together to continue the collaboration which could lead to tomorrow’s innovative and sustainable solutions.


Mari Arthur, Director of Cynnal Cymru said:

The Sustain Wales Awards evening is my favourite night of the year. We are able to showcase the amazing work and projects that these inspirational people are doing around Wales to make Wales a more sustainable nation. Congratulations to all the winners and thank you to all our sponsors – Wales and West Utilities, Enterprise rent a car, Acuity Legal, University of Wales Trinity St Davids, The Open University, Principality Stadium, the Low Carbon Research Institute (LCRI), Social Business Wales, Gwyrdd Creative Communications, Severn Wye Energy Agency and Interserve.

And a big thank you to AM Llyr Gruffydd who is a longstanding supporter of Cynnal Cymru and these awards. He works tirelessly to move the sustainability agenda forward in Wales on many cross-party groups, in his national remit and at a local level in his own community.”

The winners in the ten categories are:

  • Sustainability Champion – Phil Williams
  • Sustainable School – Eco Icans Challenge / Thornhill Primary School
  • Sustainable Further Education/Higher Education Institution – Pharmabees / Cardiff University
  • Sustainable Building – Building Community / Down to Earth
  • Sustainable Innovation in Public Services – ‘Our Space’ / Public Health Wales with Greenstream Flooring, Rype Office furniture and Orangebox
  • Sustainable Business of the Year – The Sustainability Challenge 2016-17 / Griffiths
  • Sustainable Community Group – Recycle4Charity / Pembrokeshire Care, Share & Give
  • Sustainable Social Enterprise – YnNi Teg
  • Sustainable Practice in Arts, Culture and Sport – It Doesn’t Have To be That Way’, Breaking the Cycles of Abuse, Violence and Control / Glyndwr University
  • Special Recognition Award – Nigel and Joyce Gervis, Ty-Mawr Lime


There were a number of finalists awarded a highly commended certificate for their outstanding work. These are:

  • Frankie Hobro
  • Chris Blake
  • Ysgol Bae Baglan – Stride Treglown
  • Ysgol Gymraeg Brynsierfel & CISP Multimedia
  • Swansea University and Amber Energy
  • Bridgend College
  • St David’s Partnership
  • Xcel Bowl
  • Snowdonia National Park
  • Natural Resources Wales
  • Robert Owen Community Banking
  • Pentrebane Zone
  • Pontyberem Community Park Association
  • Awel Co-op
  • Datblygiadau Egni Gwledig (DEG)
  • BBC Roath Lock Studios
  • Theatre Clwyd / Betsi Cadwaldr University Health Board

Find out more about all the finalists in the Sustain Wales Awards Brochure. [:]